

For Immediate Release August 9, 2018

ICC CONTACT: Marianne Manko Office: (217) 782-5793 Mobile: (217) 993-1000 Marianne.Manko@Illinois.gov

> Victoria Crawford Office: (217) 557-5819

Victoria.Crawford@Illinois.gov

NextGrid: Illinois' Utility of the Future Update & Public Comment Session to be **Held in Carbondale**

Springfield, IL...The public is invited to participate in a NextGrid Study Update and Public Comment Session on Thursday, August 16 from 9:30 am – 11:30 am at the Dunn-Richmond Economic Development Center, 1740 Innovation Drive in Carbondale.

NextGrid is a consumer-focused study to identify, research, and develop options to modernize and improve Illinois' electric grid while minimizing costs to consumers. The study is comprised of seven Working Groups that are providing research, technical information, discussion and feedback for the study. Descriptions of the Working Groups can be found here on the NextGrid website.

At the conclusion of the Working Groups' deliberations, Lead Facilitators Dr. George Gross and Dr. Peter Sauer from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign will prepare a final report providing a comprehensive view of our current grid, and a menu of tools, technologies, and policies that could lead to the grid of the future.

"The electric industry is in a period of dramatic change – with the growth of solar and other renewable energy, electric vehicles and the Internet of Things – leading to greater choices and more empowered consumers. We want residential, commercial and industrial electric consumers to have a voice in reshaping the energy landscape and the modernization of the electric grid," said ICC Chairman Brien J. Sheahan.

The NextGrid study is committed to ensuring a wide array of perspectives are included in the final report. A public comment session was previously held in Chicago, with another scheduled for Urbana -Champaign on August 15, 2018 from 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm in Room 3002, of the Electrical and Computing Engineering Building (ECEB), 306 N. Wright Street in Urbana.

Presentations overviewing all seven of the Working Groups will be given at both the Carbondale and Urbana-Champaign sessions, after which the public will have the opportunity to ask questions or offer written or verbal comments. The links below will direct you to the Working Group agendas, presentations and meeting summaries:

Working Group #1: New Technology Deployment and Grid Integration

Working Group Leader: Mohammad Shahidehpour, Ph.D., *Illinois Institute of Technology, Bodine Chair Professor of ECE, Director, Robert W. Gavin Center for Electricity Innovation*

Working Group #2: Metering, Communications and Data

Working Group Leader Matthew Olson P.E., *Networks, Integration & Automation\Projects Director\Transmission & Distribution Services, Burrns & McDonnell*

Working Group #3: Reliability, Resiliency and Cyber Security

Working Group Leader: Manimaran Govindarasu, Ph.D., *Mehl Professor and Associate Chair;* Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Iowa State University
Co-leader: Dominic Saebeler, Director of Cyber Security and Risk Management, Illinois Commerce Commission

Working Group #4: Customer and Community Participation

Working Group Leader: Marty Cohen, Principal, Martin Roth Cohen & Associates

Working Group #5: Electricity Markets

Working Group Leader: Dr. Lynne Kiesling, Associate Director, *John H. Schnatter Center for Economic Research*, *Purdue University*.

Working Group #6: Regulatory and Environmental Policy Issues

Working Group Leader: Mary Gade, Gade Environmental Group, LLC

Working Group# 7: Ratemaking

Working Group Leader: Dr. Carl Pechman, Director, *The National Regulatory Research Institute* Co-Leader: Ken Costello, Principal Researcher (Energy and Environment), The National Regulatory Research Institute

Those who wish to comment verbally should <u>register in advance</u> and sign in at the meeting. In order to accommodate as many speakers as possible, there will be a limited time set for verbal comments; however, written comments of any length will be accepted from any member of the public who attends. A formal agenda is available <u>here</u>. If you are unable to attend in person, you are invited to participate via WebEx at <u>www.webex.com</u> or 1-415-655-0002. The webex meeting number (access code) is 809-238-278 and the meeting password is 2zF777At.

Interested parties are encouraged to visit the <u>NextGrid website</u> to review the draft NextGrid introductory chapter as well as draft reports for Working Groups #1, #2, #3 and initial drafts for Working Groups #4 & #6. Comments, white papers and other documentation on these drafts may be submitted <u>here</u> for consideration. Each Working Group will hold an additional, final meeting to allow the public another opportunity to provide comment on the draft reports.

To learn more, visit the NextGrid website or follow us on twitter @ICC_NextGrid and Instagram@NextGrid_Illinois.

###

About the Illinois Commerce Commission

The Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) is a quasi-judicial body made up of five Commissioners. Through its Public Utility Program, the Commission oversees the provision of adequate, reliable, efficient and safe utility services at the least possible cost to Illinois citizens served by electric, natural gas, telecommunications, water and sewer public utility companies. Through its Transportation Regulatory Program, the Commission oversees public safety and consumer protection programs with regard to intrastate commercial motor carriers of general freight, household goods movers, relocation towers, safety towers, personal property warehouses and repossession agencies. The Commission's Rail Safety Program also inspects and regulates the general safety of railroad tracks, facilities and equipment in the state.

To learn more about the Commission, its offices and bureaus, click <u>here</u>. If you are a consumer who needs help resolving a utility dispute call 800-524-0795 or file an online complaint <u>here</u>. For a complaint related to transportation, call 217-782-6448.

Follow the Illinois Commerce Commission on Twitter @ILCommerceComm